'Oh, so that's who Richard Morris is..." Lord Hattersley on The Daily Politics

'An influential activist' - The Guardian

'Iain Dale, without the self loathing' - Matthew Fox in The New Statesman

You are a tinker...' - Tim Farron

Tuesday, 22 January 2013

Have just 2* sitting MPs said they are standing in 2015? Surely not?


Since writing to this post I have written to every Lib Dem MP asking where they stand - and things are much much better than I thought. See this new post!

(*the number is growing since I wrote the headline - it's 3 now!)

Given how important the incumbent effect is on Lib Dems holding onto seats - there's an excellent piece on this from Mark Pack here - I wondered how many of our current MPS have formally confirmed that they are restanding in 2015

I suspect the answer is currently - not many...certainly there's not much evidence of it that's easy to find

Here's a list of who I know is standing, who I know isn't (that's a very short list) and Don't Knows (that's a very long list...

Can anyone help me with further information? I'm sure there are lots of people who have said they are standing again....


Nick Clegg, Sheffield Hallam

Julian Huppert, Cambridge
Duncan Hames, Chippenham 

Not Restanding


Don't know

Danny Alexander, Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey
Norman Baker, Lewes
Alan Beith, Berwick-upon-Tweed
Gordon Birtwistle, Burnley
Tom Brake, Carshalton and Wallington
Annette Brooke, Mid Dorset and North Poole
Jeremy Browne, Taunton
Malcolm Bruce, Gordon
Paul Burstow, Sutton and Cheam
Lorely Burt, Solihull
Vincent Cable, Twickenham
Menzies Campbell, North East Fife
Alistair Carmichael, Orkney and Shetland
Michael Crockart, Edinburgh West
Edward Davey, Kingston and Surbiton
Tim Farron, Westmorland and Lonsdale
Lynne Featherstone, Hornsey and Wood Green
Don Foster, Bath
Andrew George, St Ives
Stephen Gilbert, St Austell & Newquay
Mike Hancock, Portsmouth South
Nick Harvey, North Devon
David Heath, Somerton and Frome
John Hemming, Birmingham Yardley
Martin Horwood, Cheltenham
Simon Hughes, North Southwark and Bermondsey
Chris Huhne, Eastleigh
Mark Hunter, Cheadle
Charles Kennedy, Ross, Skye and Lochaber
Norman Lamb, North Norfolk
David Laws, Yeovil
John Leech, Manchester Withington
Stephen Lloyd, Eastbourne
Michael Moore, Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale
Greg Mulholland, Leeds North West
Tessa Munt, Wells
John Pugh, Southport
Alan Reid, Argyll and Bute
Dan Rogerson, North Cornwall
Bob Russell, Colchester
Adrian Sanders, Torbay
Robert Smith, West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
Andrew Stunell, Hazel Grove
Ian Swales, Redcar
Jo Swinson, East Dunbartonshire
Sarah Teather, Brent Central
John Thurso, Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross
David Ward, Bradford East
Steve Webb, Thornbury & Yate
Simon Wright, Norwich South 
Mark Williams, Ceredigion
Roger Williams, Brecon and Radnorshire
Stephen Williams, Bristol West
Jenny Willott, Cardiff Central


Also - do we really only have 3 PPCs selected to date?


  1. 3 PPCs not 3 PCCs! :)

    And remember there was a huge delay due to waiting on the proposed boundary changes.

  2. Ha, so sorry, you're right, am ALWAYS doing that...

    Yes, there was huge delay because of that - but I believe Labour and the Tories and well along the path now.

    Lots of folk coming back to me now with names of other sitting MPs who are restanding - so feeling rather better about the whole thing :-)

  3. Well, they do have to be re-selected by their local parties, so maybe they think it is a little premature. As Jen says, most local parties won't have selected yet because of the uncertainty over boundary changes